Decker the Dog

Hello again! I saw some of you when I was in the shop in Boise–thank you for your positive comments! Today I am introducing you to Decker the dog. That’s my son, Bo, trying to get him to pose for the camera. For a big dog, Decker is a big chicken–doesn’t like his picture taken. Guess it’s true that dogs are like their owners, because I avoid getting in the picture at all costs!

decker-boAnd here’s my wonky portrayal of Mr. Decker, with LOTS of artistic license! Hey, the red collar’s the same and I think I got the nose about the right size …

decker

 

 

If you check out my earlier posts you’ll see the original sketch. I really wanted to use the yellow fabric for his body, but I didn’t have a large enough piece. Oh well, I just carefully sewed two pieces together. If you look closely, you can see the seam. Which brings me to my next trick: Quilter’s Choice glue. It’s a water soluble glue (that means it will wash out later) that holds well and dries clear. Anytime I need to match something up exactly, I take the new piece, fold the seam allowance under and press it. Then I dab a bit of glue on the seam allowance. I place the piece exactly where I want it to sit on top of the first piece, and heat set it with the iron to dry the glue. It’s simple to peel back the seam and sew on the pressed fold line. That’s how I managed to line up the dots, and get Decker’s red collar to line up with his body. Ditto for the ears–they were so small I would never have gotten them to line up without a dab of glue!

I’ve also started to put a few pieces together. I’m not done by a long stretch, but I’ve started to build out two of my rows.

della_decker_karen

None of my blocks were the same size, so this is where the rule, “If it’s too short sew some more on, and if it’s too big, cut some off,” comes in to play. Della, on her soap box was too tall, so off went part of her hat and the border above it. The block of me in my orange pants was too short, so I simply added some scrap squares to make my block longer. Decker got some checkerboard squares to stand on, and some other “parts and pieces” blocks (you are making some of those, right?) got inserted for color and a bit of breathing room.

The next row I put together had two tall houses–I wanted to add a third. Rather than start over making a whole new house, I chopped off the roof of another house block, and added a scrappy bottom. I added some more vertical strips of color, and once again used some of my checkerboard “filler” squares. Notice how on the far left and upper right I chopped them at an angle? I needed to square up the unit so it will fit with the next block(s), whatever they will be!

tall_houses

 

I know this is a long post, but I’ll end with a shot of my design wall. You can see I’ve got LOTs more work to do, but you can get an idea of the parts and pieces I’ve been playing with so far.  parts_piecesI hope you’re having fun, and sewing along with me! –Karen

 

 

 

3 responses to “Decker the Dog

  1. I am thoroughly enjoying your journey thru Wonky Land! I’m still trying to put together a few quilts from last years Stashbusters patterns 🙂

  2. I’ve never been too tall before, but I have had a few soap boxes. Love the blocks.

  3. How do I continue to get your posts? I love your designs and ideas!!

Leave a Reply

