Meet Della

dellaSome of you know Della from the store. Always smiling and laughing, she is my best friend. So it only seems right that I would have to put her in my wonky quilt. The picture on the left is my first attempt. We’re miles apart but as usual, she added her two cents and requested the lime green dress and curly hair.

I really didn’t like the light background, and I kept trying to make it work. Finally, I took it apart and auditioned some different backgrounds…I liked the red the best. I purposely made her a little shorter and *ahem* slightly wider, and gave her a couple of x-blocks to stand on. And yes, her socks are two different colors–just like she wears everyday. Next I’ll be making me…taller and thinner (and by the way, I got Della’s good-natured permission for that!). Now where can I find pretty and smart fabrics? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Let me know if you need help making a “people” block. I can certainly step you through it.

Karen

14 responses to “Meet Della

  1. Super cute! You are BOTH lucky to have such a good friend!!

  2. OMG! That’s Della.

    From your loving sister.
    Rita

  3. Definitely the red brings out Della’s curls and the green of her dress. I recently visited a quilt shop in Sedona and took 2 pics of their wonky quilts made with orphan blocks and wonky designs. Pretty fun stuff.

  4. Love your Delia, is perfect! Makes me
    d backgrou

  5. Love your Delia, the red background is perfect and makes me smile.

  6. Darlene Little

    Love what you are doing

  7. Evelyn Jackson

    Love what you are doing. For an intermediate quilter, it gives me hope that pieces of fabric don’t always have to line up correctly. You inspire me to try new things.

  8. I would get rid of the hat. All hair. Or you could call it Della haimlincoln… Looks like Abraham Lincolns hat…. ๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜Šโ˜บ๏ธ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. I don’t recall seeing Della with a hat, but she does have lots of curly hair. And her socks are always colorful! Keep going with those brights!

  10. Cindy Schroeder

    Best friends! Love your interpretation of Della. Perhaps put her block right underneath a sunny wonky star block as she is always a ray of sunshine. …

  11. Hi Karen,
    Love the Della block, looking forward to seeing you in a block next time. I noticed the mismatched socks right away. The red looks so much better.

  12. Great friends…could be twins… what a fun design. Looking forward to the next creative block…did u say “the greenbelt ” for your walks together ? Oh, but then you would need the river too. (Where’s the dog?) Happy quilting…stay warm.

  13. Thanks for all the positive comments. Della has me a little scared–she says she is going to make a block of me–“mom jeans” and all. Here’s a challenge–make a wonky block of you, your bff, your pet–oh, let’s not forget that significant other. And here’s a tip–depending on your interpretation, you may not want to identify your “model”! If you send me a picture of your block I’ll post it: quiltexp@cableone.net. Have some fun and let the creativity fly!

  14. Love, love, love the fun Della block! The red makes it pop for sure! Can’t wait to see the Karen block!! I’ve missed seeing all of you. Haven’t been out much lately due to health issues. But I’ll be back!! May have to have you walk me through a people block!! Just had a thought that a quilt of “family people” block would be hilarious & fun to do!!

Leave a Reply

