“Strips and Squares”

pieces

I’ve been sewing away each evening this week, making table toppers, baby blankets for gifts, trying out one of last month’s Stashbuster patterns and finishing curtains for my daughter’s classroom.  What each of these projects have in common is that they all resulted in a collection of scraps.  Some are width of fabric and some are odd-shaped.  I keep just about everything, so I add all of the left overs to my scrap tubs.

Before I started working at Quilt Expressions, I often wondered what happened to the odds and ends, the bits and pieces of fabric that weren’t sold as yardage or a fat quarter.  Oftentimes, what’s left on the end of a bolt is less than half a yard, or we’ll find a flaw in the fabric and need to cut some off, leaving an odd shape.  Can you imagine just throwing these pieces away?  Nope…me either!

If you’ve been in the store lately, you may have noticed the small plastic bags of coordinated rolled fabric on each of the cutting counters.  These are our “Strips and Squares” bags.  The fabric left over at the end of the bolt is either cut into width of fabric strips that are between 2.5″ and 5″ wide, or they are cut into 10″ squares.  Each “Strips and Squares” bag contains a combination of twenty strips and squares, sorted by either color or theme.

The strips and squares could be added to your stash, mixing the squares in with a layer cake or adding the strips to a log cabin.  Another option is to combine one “Strips and Squares” bag with one yard of solid fabric and see what you can make…sounds like a challenge to me!

bag

I picked a colorful floral bag and added one yard of solid white.  After opening up the rolled fabric and pressing each piece, I was amazed by how much fabric I had to work with.

projects

I was able to make (from top left, clockwise):  a ribbon loop toy, an adult half-apron, a baby quilt top, a child’s half-apron, and a pincushion.  The photo on the bottom left corner shows that I still have scraps left over after completing five projects.

If  you’re up for a fun challenge, visit us at Quilt Expressions, grab a “Strips and Squares” bag and one yard of solid fabric, add a little imagination and see what you can create!

3 responses to ““Strips and Squares”

  1. Sharmini de Alwis

    Love the colors you chose for the quilt!!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. I love scraps! So I looked on the quilt expressions website and couldn’t find strips and squares anywhere. Can you point me in the right direction? Thanks

    • Kathleen, thanks so much for stopping by the blog! At this time, the “Strips and Squares” bags are only available in the store. If this changes, I will let you know as soon as possible! -Katie

Leave a Reply

