Let’s get to know Tracey…

Traci

If you’ve been in Quilt Expressions, you’ve heard the gentle, continual hum that comes from the long arm side of the store.  We have four Gammill Long Arm quilting machines that are available to rent by those who have taken our long-arm class and a Statler Stitcher that is operated by staff only.  Keeping this beehive of activity operating smoothly is a team of talented quilters…..Tracey and Rodi.  (Read about Rodi here).  Let’s get to know Tracey a little better.

How did you learn to sew?

My mother taught me how to sew clothing when I was about eight years old.  Her standard was that the inside had to look as good as the outside.  I learned on an old treadle machine and then used an old black Singer Featherweight.

My life outside of Quilt Expressions:

I have six kids and two grandkids.  One of my favorite places to hang out with the family is Lake Powell.  We enjoy wake boarding.

My long arm quilting history:

I started working at Quilt Expressions 3-4 years ago.  I took a long arm class at the store and bought my own long arm two weeks later.

Do you enjoy quilting others’ quilts?

I love quilting our customers’ quilts.  It’s so fun to see all of the possibilities.  I also love both watching and helping customers quilt their own quilts on the long arms.

What is your favorite type of fabric and pattern?

I don’t have a favorite type of fabric or pattern…I like them all!

What inspires you?

I am inspired by people and my surroundings.

What are you working on right now?

I am working on two scrappy/stash quilts from my own pattern creation.  I am also working on a Quilt Expressions kit.  I had hoped it would be done by May 2013 to be my couch quilt.  I just need to sew the blocks together and add the borders….maybe by May 2014?

Three things I’d like to tell you as a long arm quilter…

1.   Be sure to stay stitch/baste all the way around the quilt.

2.  Measure through the middle for your borders.

3.  After it’s quilted and bound ~ wash it, wrap up in it, and enjoy it!

2 responses to “Let’s get to know Tracey…

  1. Made my first big quilt at your class at QE. Purchased flannel for the back. Should I prewash the flannel?

  2. I am a new long arm quilter. I took the class several months ago and I’d just like to say Rodi and Tracey couldn’t be more helpful and patient with me when I come in to quilt. I appreciate all they do.

Leave a Reply

