The International Quilt Market in Houston~ Day One

Fall Quilt Market 2013  Day One Arrival

Karen, Della and I left Boise and it’s gorgeous Fall days behind on Thursday.  We soared above the clouds, catching the sun as it set on the horizon behind us.  We landed in Houston late in the evening, took a taxi to the hotel and woke to a gorgeous Houston day.  After a short walk (and a much needed stop at Starbucks), we arrived at the International Quilt Market.

Fall Quilt Market 2013 Day One Schoolhouse

As many of you know, I am relatively new to the quilting world.  This is my first time at Market, and I secretly suspect that I’m a source of entertainment to Karen and Della.  Needless to say (but I’ll say it anyway), I’m in a bit of a state of awe.

Today, we spent the day at “Schoolhouse.”  From 11:20-6:00 we attended 30 minute classes and learned about techniques, new patterns and fabric collections, marketing tips….just about any topic you can imagine related to the quilting industry.  And that’s just day one!

Fall Quilt Market 2013 Day One Hotel Floors

I can’t show you any photos of the projects we saw today (hopefully I can tomorrow!), but I can show you the floor.  Yep, the floor!  The George R. Brown Convention Center is attached to The Hilton, and the carpet throughout the entire hotel is like one gigantic quilt.  It’s simply stunning.

photo

The highlight of my day was to have the opportunity to meet the authors of some of my favorite pattern books, Barb and Mary of Me and My Sister Designs.

DSCN5114

We dragged our weary bodies back to the hotel, but only after taking a quick peek through the windows at the Market. (Pat yourself on the back if you can find the three of us in the photo).  Right now, it’s just about deserted, inhabited only by those putting the last finishing touches to their displays and those laying the last pieces of red carpet through the aisles.  Tomorrow, I suspect it’ll look a bit different.  Until tomorrow evening…

3 responses to “The International Quilt Market in Houston~ Day One

  1. I am at market too helping a friend at her booth (#1257 if you get nearby). I will keep an eye out for you. The place is so huge! But the energy in the hall is amazing. Enjoy!!

  2. Pat, pat, pat…there you are! Just keep in mind how many people are thinking of you…or are downright jealous! Say hi to any other Idaho folk you see there!

  3. Looks like you will have a fabulous time and have lots of grins!!

Leave a Reply

