“Whatcha doin’?”

Before we get started on this post, I gotta be honest with you.  I love writing blog posts, especially about sewing, but I have the hardest time naming them!  You want to come up with something descriptive, something catchy, something that will catch your reader’s eye.  But, for me, when it comes time to put the title in that little white box, my mind just says, “Nope!  Not gonna do it!”  As we get into a regular posting schedule here on the Quilt Expressions’ blog, I will occasionally write about what I’ve been working on. From here on out, to make it a little easier on myself, I’m going to title those posts “Whatcha doin’?”  It’s what I like to call a two-way question…I’ll tell you what I’ve been working on and I’d love to hear about what you’ve been working on.  Let us know in the comment section!

Whew!  I feel better…thanks for letting me get that out.  Now, on to the post…

I used to sew just one project at a time. I’d start something, finish it and then start another.  Since starting at Quilt Expressions, I’ve noticed a change ~ probably just the first of many!  This past week, I’ve had no less than four projects going at once.  My kitchen table and chairs have either held dinner and my family or my sewing machine and a multitude of projects.  At first, I thought that it would drive me a bit crazy, trying to keep everything organized.  Then, I discovered how nice it is to have both large and small projects to work on.  If I have an hour, I pick up a large project; if I have a few minutes, I can grab one of my smaller projects.  Here’s what I’ve been working on this week:

photo

Project #1 is the Super Six I started back in July.  I’ve attached the striped border and have just one more to add before the top is finished.

PicMonkey Collage Stitch In Color

Project #2 comes from the “Make It Yourself” magazine that we talked about here.  The Grab Bag is found on page 64.  This bag would be a fantastic gift:  it takes just a small amount of fabric, is very quick to make, and has six very handy interior pockets.  Bags #2 and 3 were made using the “Stitch In Color” line by Malka Dubrawsky for Moda. A customer brought in a quilt top this past week made with the “Stitch In Color” collection ~ it was so colorful and fun!  The collection is available both in store and on-line (search with keywords “stitch in color”).  We’ve also ordered additional copies of the “Make It Yourself” magazine, so stop in soon to get your own copy!

PicMonkey Collage Comma

Bag # 1 and Project #3 come from my favorite line of fabric, “Comma” by Zen Chic for Moda.  I had a few sizeable scraps left over from other projects, so I made a couple of 16″ pillow covers.  This is a great way to make use of scraps and liven up your living area.  “Comma” is very colorful and has quite the collection of fun prints.  It also coordinates well with “Stitch In Color.”

Project #4 is not quite finished.  I’m thinking ahead to cooler days, crisp nights, and the colors of Fall by spending a bit of time with a Boo Crew charm pack.  Check back soon for the completed project!

Do you prefer to work on one project at a time?  Or do you like to have several going at once?  Let us know in the comment section.  I’d love to hear from you!

 

16 responses to ““Whatcha doin’?”

  1. It would be nice if I only had a few projects going at one time. I start a new project and get bored and it goes in a box till I run across it again. I just finished 2 quilts (from one started in 1964) went to work and then packed ufo around for almost 50 yrs, then tore apart, replaced gold for maroon and reshashed and gave 2 quilts to family members. but I did finish it that is what counts ,right?

  2. I haven’t made any quilts this summer, but have made a couple of purses, turned a “Onesie” into a dress for my granddaughter, have readied some cotton cording to be made into coasters….so lots of miscellaneous projects – and plenty of time spent on the computer bookmarking and looking for ideas for future endeavors.

    • Deb, you have been busy! Second to quilts, I love making purses. I can’t bring myself to spend a lot on one at a store when I can make my own. They are one-of-a-kind, and my favorite pattern can be made for about $25. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. I am working on an all blue bargello for a wedding present. I usually work on one at a time, but like Margene, I have some projects waiting for me to get back to them.

  4. I always have multiple projects going at once.

  5. I have a multitude of quilts that I am working on at once. Right now I am almost finished with a King Size Jacob’s ladder made with scraps of batiks! I am lovin’ in! I have about 5 no wait 6 tops that are waiting for me to layer and quilt. I also have about 3 others that I have started and are waiting for me to finish. I usually do finish my projects, but sometimes it takes awhile if I lose interest or something more exciting or pressing comes along. I have also made several coin purses and a clutch purse and about 24 pairs of pot holders. Whew!

  6. I purchased a new sewing machine in October, one with a computer, and since then I’ve made 5 quilt tops, 4 queen and 1 king; all but the king are batiks. So love the batiks!

  7. At the moment I am trying to put a binding on a quilt for a lady and realized when I trimmed the batting back that she did not have enough backing to meet the front (she did not quilt it). Now i have to re-cut the binding larger to cover the back. I have finished 4 quilts so far this year and have one I pieced at a retreat to finish up, and then the one for grandson to finish, so yes I do have lots of projects going at once. Oh I forgot the snowflakes that one of the ladies at retreat showed us how to do, brought mine to home to finish. Never enough time to get it all done.

  8. Wow! I feel like I’d better start some more projects! After reading your comments, having one quilt and three smaller projects going at once seems like a walk on the beach. I really was missing out on all of the fun when I worked on just one at a time. Your comments inspire me…..thanks! ~Katie

  9. I am just a beginning quilter so I have been trying to get one project at a time completed. . .but I also have a question that probably shows my inexperience–in doing a border why sew all the strips together into one long strip & then measure and attach? When you know that the side of the quilt is certainly no longer than 2 strips–it seems that less yardage would be easier to measure & handle. Thank you

  10. Maryon…I’m also what I would call a beginning quilter, but I’m going to go ahead an give you my best answer. The experts can add to it if needed. To me, the great thing about using one long piece of binding is the beautifully mitered corners. You have one starting and ending spot to deal with and your corners will be clean and unbulky. The corners are really quite easy if you have someone show you how to do it. Here is a link to a past tutorial by Stacy dealing with attaching the binding. If you’d like to see it in person, just stop by the front corner and we’ll show you how to do it. https://quiltexpressions.wordpress.com/2011/10/12/binding-tutorial/. Hope this helps! ~Katie

  11. I think the question is about borders, not binding. I always sew my border strips together first on the short edges. The I measure through the center of the quilt and cut two strips to that length from the long strip. I match the centers and pin the strips to the quilt, easing in any fullness. That helps keep (or make) the quilt square. Also, the seam in Athens border isn’t in the same place on both sides. I repeat that process for the next two borders. The fabric remaining from my big long strip is more usable than if I had cut pieces for each side.

  12. Well, a huge thank you to Karen for answering the question with the right answer! :). I can’t even use the excuse that it was late at night! -Katie

  13. Pingback: “Whatcha doing?” | Quilt Expressions Blog

  14. Pingback: “Whatcha Doing?” | Quilt Expressions Blog

Leave a Reply

