How’s that Super Six coming along?

PicMonkey Collage

I’m so glad you asked!  If you’re just joining us, back on this post I decided to try to make a quilt using a pattern.  I chose Quilt Expressions’ “Super Six”, which calls for six one-yard cuts of fabric.    The quilt is going to be for my daughter, who is almost nine.  She loves the color pink, so I knew that there had to be a lot of pink involved.  Let me start off by telling you that choosing my fabric is always the hardest part for me, and I think I spent more time on that than I have on any other step so far.

The first fabric that caught my eye was the white floral print in the photo on the left.  I wondered around the store, picking up a bolt here and there that matched, but I was having a hard time finding a stripe that worked with the other five fabrics.  I finally found the stripe in the photo, but I just wasn’t happy with it.  And there simply was not enough pink! Then, I saw the “Crazy Daisy” collection from Benartex.  It was perfect!  I had wanted something that would grow with her, that wasn’t too little-girly.  I chose three from “Crazy Daisy” and three other prints that went well with them.  Here’s what I finally settled on:

018

Aren’t they gorgeous?!  There is enough pink to satisfy my pink-lovin’ daughter and enough other colors (orange!!) to mix it up a bit.  Whew!  The hard part was over.

PicMonkey Collage cutting

After pressing my fabric, I started cutting.  This part made me a little nervous.  You see, if I’m making a quilt without a pattern, mistakes can easily be turned into a happy accident.  I can tell myself that that was how it was meant to turn out.  With a pattern, that doesn’t work out so well.  This pattern, though, includes a very detailed cutting diagram that is the same for five of your fabrics.   See that picture on the top right?  Those are all of the scraps left over after cutting five yards of fabric.  I was amazed!  I was able to get exactly what I needed with very little waste.  I laid out the pieces in piles according to where they’d end up in the quilt (blocks or borders) and got ready to put my blocks together.  (That last photo on the bottom right is just because I love how they look all piled up and ready to assemble.)

PicMonkey Collage nine patch

I learned something about myself while assembling the 20 interior blocks.  I love making nine-patch blocks!  I don’t know which part I enjoyed more…matching the fabrics up so that no two blocks were the same or the finished product.  And the backs can be just as pretty as the front!  The part of me that loves to organize  must be the part that appreciates that.

039

So, after just a couple of hours of cutting and sewing, this is what the quilt top looks like.  The interior 20 blocks are complete, and I have the first border attached.  I temporarily let go of my need to have total control and let my daughter choose the placement of the border pieces.  (This is my way of letting you know that I’m very aware that some of the border pieces sit right against an interior block with the same print….my daughter’s version of a happy accident.)

011

I have just two more steps before the quilt top is complete ~ check back in with me soon!

Links to products mentioned in this post:

018

5 responses to “How’s that Super Six coming along?

  1. I also love making nine patches! Don’t worry, the border looks fine. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Long Arm Love | Quilt Expressions Blog

  3. Pingback: “Whatcha doing?” | Quilt Expressions Blog

  4. Pingback: Working on my PhD | Quilt Expressions Blog

  5. Gracias por invitarme a escribir he disdrutado con tu blog no te conocía hoy.

    Felicidades tienes un sitio super interesante Gracias por compartir con todos.

Leave a Reply

