Meet Our Staff

Introducing…Kat! She’s no stranger to many of you, but we think she still has a few surprises up her sleeve. Read on to learn a bit more about this Quilt Expressions veteran.

KatPassarino

Here’s Kat with her aboriginal quilt.

What’s your background?
In college I was a home economics major with an emphasis on clothing and textiles. I also had a business minor. I did a lot of testing of fabrics and designed clothing. This knowledge came in handy when I opened a quilt store in Southern California. I went to a lot of quilt shows and started to design patterns so I would have some different things in my booth that people hadn’t seen before. I got hooked on the Dresden ruler and created most of my patterns with it. (You can take a look at some of Kat’s patterns on our website here or get a full tutorial on the Dresden ruler here.)

What are your favorite quilt “genres”?
Kaffe, batiks and reproduction traditional — my daughter jokes that I’m a little bi-polar!

What are you working on now?
Right now I’m working on a flannel quilt called Pennies and another Dresden quilt. I’m also designing a new Dresden pattern that’s more modern and I’m looking forward to doing it out of Kaffe fabric leftover from the last quilt I made.

What inspires you?
I get a lot of inspiration from others and their creativity. I love going on retreats and sewing with others. Also, one of my favorite things to do is sew with my daughter — we have created some wonderful quilts together as gifts for others.

What do you enjoy besides quilting?
Knitting, hiking, jewelry-making, reading in a book club and collecting antique quilts (oh wait..that’s quilting!)

12 responses to “Meet Our Staff

  1. Barbara Byrne Derby

    Kat, you have been so helpful when I am at the store. Glad to get to know your background in also in clothing and textiles:) K-State graduate here!

  2. Kat, you are great, I love having you help me put colors together, loved knowing more about you.

  3. Kat, great to learn more about you! Thanks for sharing.

  4. Kat what a great person and I love your Kaffee. I love all the help you give me.

  5. Yay Kat! I always value her opinion when I’m putting fabrics together for a new quilt. I appreciate her help.

  6. Kat, you are one of my most favorite people…..you have helped me so many times and always have great advice with my fabric questions….thank you so much!

  7. Dorene Hutchinson

    Kat, I love that you are always smiling, and at moments when I need it!!! Thank’s for sharing you!!!

  8. What a lovely highlight for Kat ! One of these days I will get back to quilts, knitting takes ALL my time right now…but the fabric is pretty enticing. Your Aboriginal quilt is lovely, Kat.

  9. Excellent turorial! Hope to see more.

  10. For a quilter with a limited background, you have helped me several times with my needs and you have helped me determine the right amount of yardage needed. Thank you, Kat. Darlene York

  11. You are always so helpful in finding just the perfect fabric to finish a
    quilt. You are the best. Thanks for all you do, Nell Billings

  12. I love all of the blogs. on quilting

Leave a Reply

